top of page

Qui sommes-nous

Who are we?

Intercambio is a non-profit organization registered in Belgium (0789970770) that guides volunteers in social projects with the aim of safeguarding the basic rights of underprivileged teenagers and in this way minimize social inequalities in the world.

 

Intercambio is an initiative arising from our team's many experiences with voluntary work, in which we want to focus on quality, and thus offer valuable volunteering positions.

Heb impact als vrijwilliger in Medellín (Colombia)

À propos de nous

Intercambio est une association à but non lucratif enregistrée en Belgique qui accompagne des volontaires lors de projets sociaux, dans le but de protéger les droits fondamentaux des jeunes défavorisés et contribuer à réduire les inégalités sociales dans le monde.

 

Intercambio est une initiative née par les nombreuses expériences de bénévolat des membres de notre équipe. L'accent est mis sur la qualité des positions de volontariat que nous proposons.

Pourquoi “Intercambio”?

Intercambio est un mot espagnol qui signifie échange. Nous pensons que l'échange des cultures, des langues et de compétences à un jeune âge est précieux pour le développement personnel des jeunes ainsi que la recherche et la construction de leur propre identité. Cela ouvre aussi leurs horizons et les expose à des opportunités de vie intéressantes et inattendues. Ainsi nos programmes de volontariat sont centrés sur l'échange. Le volontaire, l'association d'accueil et le groupe cible (les jeunes défavorisés) vont apprendre les uns des autres, les connaissances ne vont pas seulement dans un sens. 

Dans un monde où la tendance est quelquefois à suivre aveuglément l'exemple des pays occidentaux, nous pensons que le travail de développement doit avant tout être représenté par un échange de connaissances, de culture et de compétences. En tant qu’association, nous intervenons en tant que facilitateur des différents "échanges", en guidant toutes les parties du processus.

Nos missions

1.Encourager le développement des enfants grâce à l'égalité des chances

Nous voulons agir contre la répartition inégale des richesses et, par conséquent, l'inégalité des chances pour les enfants dans ce monde. La Convention relative aux droits de l'enfant, établie par les Nations Unies, stipule que chaque enfant à le droit à une éducation garantissant son épanouissement et son développement personnel d'un bon développement. Si la société n'offre pas ces possibilités, nous considérons qu'il est de notre responsabilité de les organiser ou de les faire respecter.

 

2.Renforcer les liens entre les différentes communautés

Nous sommes convaincus que l'échange est une composante fondamental de notre condition en tant qu'être humain. très importante de la vie. Nous souhaitons donc le promouvoir et inciter chacun à sortir de sa zone de confort, son cercle d'amis, sa culture, pour aller à la rencontre de l'autre, quelque soit son origine et son milieu social.

3.Des possibilités de bénévolat durables et abordables

Nous offrons une alternative au "volontourisme" commercial des agences de voyage. Toutes les positions bénévoles d'Intercambio sont abordables, et les bénéfices sont entièrement consacrés à notre objectif principal : "l'autonomie durable de la population locale".

bottom of page

top of page

About Us

Who are we?

Intercambio is a non-profit organization registered in Belgium (0789970770) that guides volunteers in social projects with the aim of safeguarding the basic rights of underprivileged teenagers and in this way minimize social inequalities in the world.

 

Intercambio is an initiative arising from our team's many experiences with voluntary work, in which we want to focus on quality, and thus offer valuable volunteering positions.

Heb impact als vrijwilliger in Medellín (Colombia)

Who are we?

Intercambio is a non-profit association (registered in Belgium) that guides volunteers in social projects with the aim of safeguarding the basic rights of underprivileged teenagers and in this way minimize social inequalities in the world.

 

Intercambio is an initiative arisen from our team's many experiences with voluntary work, in which we want to focus on quality, and thus offer valuable volunteering experiences.

Why "Intercambio"?

Intercambio is the Spanish word for exchange. We believe that the exchange of culture, language, and competences at a young age is valuable for the development of personality and thus offers interesting chances for life. We see volunteering programs as a form of exchange. Both the volunteer, the hosting organization and the target group (underprivileged teenagers) can learn from each other, i.e. the knowledge doesn’t go only in one direction.

We believe that it’s not up to the Western countries to impose on developing countries how they should live, but instead development work should rather be an exchange of knowledge, culture and competences. We as an organization are planning to be the facilitator of the different “exchanges“, and will support all parties during this process.

Our missions

1. Empowering Children through Equal Opportunities

We want to take action against the unequal distribution of wealth and consequently unequal opportunities for children in the world. The Convention on the Rights of the Child, drawn up by the United Nations, states that every child deserves a chance for a good development. If society doesn’t provide those chances, we see it as our duty to organize or enforce them.

 

2. Encouraging Connections Across Diverse Communities

Life is all about exchange. We want to facilitate and support exchange, because it’s our opinion that we spend too much time within our own culture. We want to stimulate people to reach out and engage with people from different backgrounds.

 

3. Sustainable and affordable Volunteer Opportunities

We offer an alternative for the commercial “voluntourism” of travel agencies. The volunteer positions at Intercambio are affordable, and all profits go directly to the ultimate goal of the projects: "self-sustainability of the local population”.

bottom of page